Best books of 2007

2007 summary.  It was a very good year for books.  With my retirement, I have been able to partake in more reading, finishing 106 books this year.  For the past five years, I’ve been giving my friends a list of the best books I’ve read each year and since I probably should treat anyone reading this blog as a friend, I’ll share that list with you.  I’ve also created a separate page for all the yearly award winners.

2007 Book Awards

The Tipping Point: how little things can make a big difference – Malcolm Gladwell.  His ideas about viral growth and how they apply to economics were quite interesting.  I’m sort of a maven, but definitely not a connector or a salesman.  I especially liked his theory on the magic number one hundred fifty.  This book was a Christmas 2006 gift and I am especially thankful to J&J for it. 


Nefertiti: The book of the dead – Nick Drake.  The Egyptian queen goes missing and must be found before chaos overcomes the land.  Very suspenseful with lots of twists.

The Tenderness of Wolves – Stef Penney. 

Master of Rain and The White Russian – Tom Bradby.   

Schulz and Peanuts: a biography – David Michaelis.

I also saw 59 movies on DVD this year.  My favorites: The Bourne Ultimatum (review forthcoming), The Lookout, Last King of Scotland, The Good Shepherd, the Pursuit of Happyness, and The Departed.  Unfortunately, no comedies that stood out.

0 Responses to “Best books of 2007”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Contact me

ascot6361 at yahoo.com

RSS feed


