Grandmother Hanna

Last week I mentioned the birth anniversary of my grandmother Bonnell.  This week includes the 113th birth anniversary of my grandmother Hanna on my mother’s side.  I do not have a digitized picture of her yet, but you can see the house where she and grandfather lived in Virginia.  We would visit them in the summer and the screened porch was a wonderful place to watch the thunderstorms, a phenomenon we didn’t have at home. 

Grandmother Hanna was the descendant of Patrick Hanna, who came to America seven generations earlier from north of Ireland in the 1730s.  She was a pioneer in her day, graduating from college and working in the county offices in Ohio.  According to her diary, on February 10, 1919 there was “quite a time in the office.  The new man comes.  Mr. McDermott.”  Her entry five days later indicates that “the new man seems very nice.”  Two years later, they were married and she became the first woman in the family to move out-of-state as her husband was an engineer helping build the roads through West Virginia.  She passed that same adventurous nature and sense of curiosity to my mother and to my sister as well.

3 Responses to “Grandmother Hanna”


  1. 1 Bonnie February 18, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    I very much enjoy your blog! Especially your badminton and family history entries. Thank you for sharing.

  2. 2 unsetclock February 19, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Thanks Bonnie. We’re hosting another small event this weekend, but I’m not sure if we’ll be live blogging this time. I’m playing as well as running the desk, so I’ll be pretty busy. I’ll be sure to do a summary on Monday and hopefully, someone will have pictures I can add.


  1. 1 Mom’s birthday « The unset alarm clock Trackback on September 11, 2008 at 10:45 am

Leave a Reply

Contact me

ascot6361 at yahoo.com

RSS feed


