My Dad’s birthday

I’ve been thinking a lot about my dad lately. First, there was Randy Pausch’s book, The Last Lecture, about his life after being diagnosed with a terminal illness, much like my dad’s situation in the 1990s. Then, there was the All-Star Game photo, which I took with my dad in the seat next to me. And finally, today is the 82nd anniversary of his birth at West Suburban Hospital in Oak Park, Illinois.

Dad at age 10 mo. with parents

Dad at age 10 mo. with parents

This picture shows dad as a baby of ten months being reluctantly photographed on a spring visit to Columbus Park with his parents, Grace and William. Columbus Park, with its baseball fields and golf course, would be a site frequented often by my dad growing up.

I recently went through one of Dad’s old address books, which included notes on everything from his hat size (7.25) to his polio shot in 1956 to his college grades (significantly better than mine). Some of this information will certainly be finding its way into future posts later this year as well as additional pictures.

1 Response to “My Dad’s birthday”


  1. 1 Ivy's mom July 11, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    The photo turned out great! Being such a composed man, it is entertaining to see him fussy in this baby photo – a rare captured moment. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Contact me

ascot6361 at yahoo.com

RSS feed


