I’m back

It’s been a month since I last posted, but I’ve still been reading and watching movies on DVD. I just haven’t been doing any writing of reviews during that time. The best of the material from the last month in brief:

A Secret and Unlawful Killing: A Mystery of Medieval Ireland, the second book by Cora Harrison set in the early 16th century. A good follow up to her debut mystery of a female judge in rural Ireland.

The Fire Kimono, the most recent Sano Ichiro novel by Laura Joh Rowland. This series had been slowly diminishing in quality, but makes a rebound with this episode, which reintroduces a critical villain from earlier books who throws the whole political scene into turmoil.

Where Serpents Sleep, another in the fine Sebastian St. Cyr mystery series by C.S. Harris. St. Cyr, at the request of and assisted by the daughter of Lord Jarvis, his archenemy, investigates the murder a Magdelen House for Reformed Girls. This series always has good, twisted plots and interesting characters.

The Treehouse: Eccentric Wisdom from My Father on How to Live, Love, and See by Naomi Wolf. In my non-fiction read for the month, Wolf reconnects with her father and learns lessons on embracing one’s creative side and finding passion in one’s life. This is an interesting look at the father-daughter relationship and parenting in general. My favorite line: “If I was going to take the path that was beckoning me, I would have to be willing to be bad at something again.”

I did see a few movies as well, including Kung Fu Panda, 88 Minutes, the new version of The Incredible Hulk, and Hancock. The best was 88 Minutes with Al Pacino. Will Smith’s Hancock was disappointing and the other two only average.

0 Responses to “I’m back”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Contact me

ascot6361 at yahoo.com

RSS feed


