Oakland Hills

Oakland Hills by Erika Mailman. While searching for her historical mystery reviewed yesterday, I came across another of Mailman’s works which I highly recommend to anyone with an interest in the history of the city of Oakland. Entitled “Oakland Hills,” this work uses the extensive photo archives of the Oakland History Room at the Oakland Public Library to show how the neighborhoods of the city were developed in the early and mid 20th century. I was thrilled to see pictures of Montclair’s library (my first library), the Claremont Hotel and Mills College (locations where I used to work), and Woodminster Park and the Knowland Zoo (places we would visit). Mailman’s accompanying captions provide a wealth of detail about each location and image. I thoroughly enjoyed getting out my map and following along as each chapter investigated a new area. There is also a closing chapter showing the devastation from the 1991 fire that destroyed hundreds of homes.

0 Responses to “Oakland Hills”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Contact me

ascot6361 at yahoo.com

RSS feed


