2021 Best Investing Book. How I Invest My Money by Joshua Brown and Brian Portnoy

How I Invest My Money: Finance experts reveal how they save, spend, and invest by Joshua Brown and Brian Portnoy.  It is a collection of 25 short essays by individuals who work in the financial planning industry.  Some own their own practices and others work for large companies.  They discuss how they got started investing, what types of accounts they have and their asset allocations.  It’s only 200 pages total and each essay is five to six pages.  I also thought the minimalist illustrations at the start of each essay were excellent.


The details and the specific allocations from each person aren’t that valuable since their circumstances are much different than most others.  What was interesting were the stories and investment philosophies.  So many of them wrote about how their parents’ experiences with money, both good and bad, shaped how they do their own planning.  You’ll also find good answers to the questions:

How much is “enough?”
How do you define “wealth?”
Why do I invest?
What are my goals?
What is the difference between “human capital” and “financial capital” and how to use both?
Can spouses operate independently or do you need to be on the same page?
How can you use money to express your values?
Can money buy “happiness” and how do you define that word?

For all my previous “books of the year” lists, see my dedicated page for these titles.



Leave a comment