2022 Best Non-fiction Book.  The Psychology of Money by Morgan Housel

The Psychology of Money: timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness by Morgan Housel.  My best investing book of 2021, “How I Invest My Money” was a collection of 25 short essays by individuals who work in the financial planning industry.  One of the contributors I really identified with was Morgan Housel, who said “independence has always been my personal financial goal.”  His book on the Psychology of Money expands upon his essay and covers approximately twenty personal finance topics ranging from the impact of luck on your success, the importance of compounding, the difference between “wealth” and “income,” and the importance of recognizing that each individual has a different time horizon and set of goals.  This last idea, Chapter 16 in the book, is one that I stress repeatedly to the people I try to help.  Housel’s text is not full of jargon, but is very easy to read with a fair amount of humor and examples from outside the financial industry.

For all my previous “books of the year” lists, see my dedicated page for these titles.



Leave a comment